Edmunds County

Population: 4,367
County Seat: Ipswich
Square Miles: 1,158

Edmunds County, created in 1873, was named for Newton Edmunds, second territorial governor of South Dakota who was appointed by President Lincoln, serving from 1863 to 1866. One of the first post offices was in Powell Township, location of a Welsh settlement.

The Yellowstone Trail, now Highway 12, started from Ipswich in 1912, going from Puget Sound, Washington, to Plymouth, Massachusetts.

Ipswich, SD
Located in: South Dakota
Powered by SobiPro